Posted in History

End Of An Era …..

  • Pictorial highlights from some of my many blogging joys over the last 5 years of Come Step Back In Time. (More images at end of article).

I published my first article on Come Step Back In Time in July 2011 and after 5 incredible years, this post will, sadly, be my last. I have thoroughly enjoyed every second of writing this blog but the time has come to embark on exciting new writing challenges.

I am very proud of Come Step Back In Time and the site will remain live for as long as WordPress continues to exist, hopefully for quite some time to come. There are 185 articles on here, most of which are long read. Final word count stands at 280k, equivalent to 3 full-length novels or 3 PhDs, no wonder I have bags under my eyes!  At the end of this post, I have compiled a list of my favourite articles from the last 5 years.

Regular readers will know, since 2013 I have also written a 2nd blog, Viva Blancmange, dedicated to retro food. Like Come Step Back In Time, Viva Blancmange has also gone from strength-to-strength, attracting a lot of attention from the  British media as well as securing a large, global readership.

Running 2 blogs in tandem has been a considerable amount of work as you may imagine. Whilst I never shy away from a challenge, I recently made the decision that, going forward, I would retain just 1 blog. I have renamed Viva Blancmange, it is now 20th Century Crush. 

Over the years, I have amassed a large collection of 20th Century vintage ephemera. 20th Century Crush will showcase historical gems from this collection. Topics will include food (diet and dining), fashion, popular culture and society, covering the period 1900-1990s. Posts on 20th Century Crush will be shorter in length and can be read in the time it takes to drink your morning tea/coffee/protein shake.

I have also carried out a major rebrand across all of my digital and social media platforms. In particular my Twitter handle has changed to @20thCentCrush and I have created a new hashtag, #20thCCrush. This hashtag will feature lots of fascinating, 20th Century inspired content. There will also be a new Instagram account so keep your eyes peeled on Twitter for further announcements.

Come Step Back In Time will always have a very special place in my heart. It has brought me great creative joy as well as new friendships and many media opportunities, with television/radio appearances on BBC, ITV and Channel 4.

Thank-you to each and every one of you that have read Come Step Back In Time, taken the time to comment, e-mail me, follow my blog(s) and offer me fabulous opportunities. I am extremely grateful. Look forward to having you join me on new blogging adventures over at 20th Century Crush🙂

EmmaXX

Honour Roll: My Favourite Come Step Back In Time Articles From The Last 5 Years 

 

6 thoughts on “End Of An Era …..

    1. Aww, thank-you Kevin;) I like that very much. I had to focus my research interests. There will be lots of retro food and plenty of weird and wonderful tales from Britain in the 20th Century. Plus new writing adventures outside the blog. More to come on that in due course. Thanks for all your, continued support. Means a lot. Let’s hope 2017 is the year we do a collab:) Emxx

      Like

  1. Very sad to hear that ‘Come step back in time’ is ending.I have really enjoyed reading your blog.But,I am so glad you are going to continue with 20th Century Crush.I look forward to reading that!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for all of your support and comments. I does mean a lot to get feedback, honestly it does. There will be lots of interesting content over on the new blog. Social history and local stories will all feature on there but it smaller, bitesize chunks rather than long reads. But Come Step Back In Time will remain live for the foreseeable future. Best wishes Emxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

